Bihar Assembly Election: 54.53% Voting Recorded in First Phase

Team BiharConnect

Voting was conducted in 71 assembly constituencies in Bihar in the first phase of polling on Wednesday, October 28. An estimated 54.53 per cent of 21.4 million registered voters cast their vote, as per the Election Commission of India data.

In the first phase voting was conducted in 16 districts of Bihar. The highest turnout was recorded in Banka district, while the lowest turnout was recorded in Munger district.

According to the data shared by Bihar’s Chief Electoral Officer, 59.57 per cent voting was recorded in Banka district, followed by Jamui at 57.41 per cent, Gaya 57.05 per cent, Kaimur 56.20 per cent, Sheikhpura 55.96 per cent, Lakhisarai 55.44 per cent, Bhagalpur 54.20 per cent, Buxar 54.07 per cent, Jehanabad 53.93 per cent, Arwal 53.85 per cent and Munger 47.36 per cent.

Voting percentage in the state was almost close to the level recorded during 2015 assembly polls. This is despite the fact that the election is held amid Covid-19 pandemic.

A total of 1,066 candidates — 952 men and 114 women — are in the fray in the first phase of elections.

Of the total 2,14,84,787 electors eligible to exercise the franchise, 1,12,76,396 are male voters, 1,01,29,101 are female electors and 599 are in the third gender category, according to the Election Commission of India data.

BiharConnect Online

BiharConnect Online service is run by the news team of BiharConnect. From economy and politics to policies and governance, we've got you covered. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook: @ConnectToBihar

Related Articles

Back to top button