Prashant Kishor-led ‘Jan Suraaj’ to contest all 242 seats in the 2025 Bihar assembly polls

I can tell you in writing that Jan Suraaj will win in Bihar on its own in 2025, says Prashant Kishor

Prashant Kishor-led Jan Suraaj, which is yet to take the form of a political party, plans to contest all 242 seats in the 2025 Bihar state assembly elections and is confident of forming government on its own.

“Jan Suraaj will contest 242 assembly seats and will come to power with a majority,” said Prashant Kishor, a well-known political strategist and founder of Jan Suraaj.

“If this doesn’t happen…Then I will leave everything and do whatever you suggest,” Kishor said in an interview with India Today.

Kishor had launched ‘Jan Suraaj’ yatra on Mahatma Gandhi’s birth anniversary on October 2, 2022.

“I can tell you in writing that Jan Suraaj will win in Bihar on its own in 2025 [without joining any alliance],” he said.

When asked if he will be the chief minister, Kishore said he has not formed the political party yet and has not declared himself a CM candidate.

Kishor had earlier declared that the party, which will be formed after the ongoing ‘Jan Suraaj’ campaign, will contest the assembly elections in Bihar in 2025. He had said the political party will be formed in the next few months.

Earlier in April, Kishor said that Bihar has a lot of space for a new party as it has “maximum anti-incumbency” following the nearly 35-year rule of ideologically similar formations headed by either Lalu Prasad Yadav or Nitish Kumar.

“Almost similar formations built around Lalu and Nitish have been there for 35 years. They have similar ideologies more or less,” he told PTI, noting that issues like social justice, socialism and ‘jungle raj’ have been there all these years.

“Anti-incumbency is maximum there. There has been no fundamental change in these 35 years. According to me, there is space [for one party],” he said.

Earlier this year, speaking at a function to mark birth centenary celebration of Bihar’s former chief minister Karpoori Thakur, Kishor had announced that the Jan Suraasj Abhiyan as a political platform will field 75 candidates from the extremely backward castes (EBCs) in the 2025 Bihar assembly elections.

“None faced defeat whose hands in the polls I have held in the past 10 years. Now I am holding the hands of the people of Bihar and their victory is certain,” Kishor had said.

BiharConnect Online

BiharConnect Online service is run by the news team of BiharConnect. From economy and politics to policies and governance, we've got you covered. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook: @ConnectToBihar

Related Articles

Back to top button